Skip navigation

I haven’t written here in a while, and I have yet to complete watching Smackdown, so instead of commenting on that, I’m going to give you wonderful people a random Top 5 List, because I know you’ve all been waiting for me to write something for the past six days.  Here are my Top 5 Oddest Possible Tag Teams With Actual Potential

5. Santino Marella and Festus – two comedy wrestlers put together.  Why not?  Both of their respective careers are circling the drain at the moment.  Why not give them a kick in the pants and bring a little fun to the tag team division?  It’s a little stale as of late.  There hasn’t been a new tag team introduced since The Hart Dynasty, and that was months ago.  And especially with the breakup of Primo and Carlito, a new team needs to step up.  And why not put these two together?  And if it doesn’t work out, at least you could make Santino Festus’ manager.  It’s be great.  Trust me.

4. Finlay and Kane – this would require a Finlay heel turn, which he is in desperate need of.  He really needs to get rid of that Hornswoggle music and go back to his original theme.  Anyway, I think these two would be a true dynamic duo.  Both guys’ singles’ careers are flat at best right now, and since we’re looking for entertainment, why not put two of the savviest vets in the company together?  Finlay and Kane know damn well how to work matches, and both are fairly well established tag team wrestlers, Kane in particular.  So why not stick them in the same boat and have them tear through the Smackdown roster?  It’ll be fun!

3. Vladimir Kozlov and William Regal – Yes, I know these guys teamed together already.  But that was one time, and we haven’t seen Regal on ECW since.  I loved these two together.  Both are vicious, brutal athletes and can take their opponents to the limit any time they want.  Regal works over opponents with brawling and counter holds, and Kozlov brings the pain with strikes and sambo moves.  It’s a great combination.  Plus, they’d be perfect tweeners with Regal saying one thing and Kozlov misinterpreting it, so they get a laugh out of the audience.  I think it’d work well.

2. R-Truth and The Great Khali – Again, these two have teamed before.  And I thought it was hilarious when they did.  But they somehow actually worked as a team, which I loved even more.  Like everyone else on this list so far, these two have dwindling singles careers at the moment.  So why not add to the insanity of this new tag team division by putting one hell of an athlete and R-Truth in a tag team?  All kidding aside, Truth’s got natural charisma, and Khali…well, he sure is big.  I’d love to see these two have some fun both inside and outside the ring, and I bet the audiences would eat it up.

And the #1 Oddest Possible Tag Team With Actual Potential is…

Evan Bourne and Mark Henry! You read it right.  Now, I realize that both of these guys are actually on the rise on Raw right now, but maybe once their singles careers cool off a bit, they’d form a tag team of pure awesome.  Some of you may have noticed that most of these teams have a large size disparity between the two members.  That’s because, for some ungodly reason, that formula works really well.  The smaller guy does his flippy-do stuff, gets caught with a big move, and spends the next 10 minutes getting a royal beatdown until he makes the hot tag to his burly counterpart, who cleans house and sets up the win.  It works wonders even today.  And these two are the biggest contrast of them all.  You’ve got one of the best overall performers in Bourne, who’s just ridiculously over with the crowd, and then you’ve got Henry, probably the best big man in the company today.  Put them together and what do you have?  A recipe for success, that’s what you’ve got.  I could see these two winning titles together.  I actually could.

So that’s my contribution for today.  Like my picks?  Think I’m an idiot?  Leave a comment.  I always respond.  I’ll be back again in a few days with…something…I don’t really know yet.  But you’ll be the first to know once I figure it out!

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] a more positive (and funny note), if you’ll look back to column #32, you might notice at the top of the list something that happened on Monday night.  Nearly six […]

Leave a Reply

