Skip navigation

Yes, I realize it’s been a while since my last post.  18 days to be exact.  My sincere apologies for not keeping you entertained with my insane ramblings about petty everyday things that probably annoy but a small portion of the general population.  I’ve been going through some real life issues, and for the moment, they’re mostly under control, so it’s back to writing about petty shit!

Today’s subject involves many people around the world.  Except people in Arizona and Hawaii.  And probably a bunch of other countries I’m too uninterested to look up.  I am talking about Daylight Savings (or Saving if you want to be truly accurate, which I have no intention of following since I HATE it) Time.  If Wikipedia is to be believed (and it usually isn’t), DST was conceived around 1905 by a British builder named William Willett, who thought people should be enjoying the early morning sun during the summer months.  What he forgot was that England doesn’t ever get any sun.  Like Seattle.  But that’s hearsay and probably a gross overgeneralization.  Anywho, everybody on the planet thought it was a stupid idea until 1916, when England and several other countries in Europe adopted it.  The U.S. started using it in 1918.

I’d heard somewhere that it was used here (in the U.S. if you didn’t already know where I live) in order to give farmers an extra hour to work in the summer evenings from March until whatever month it ends.  Apparently there are some other insane reasons as well.  Something about energy consumption, health and safety, and blah blah blah.  You know what Daylight Savings Time is to me?  Just another way to fuck around with my daily schedule.  Today time “sprang forward” one hour.  I, of course, did not remember that I was supposed to move my clocks forward last night and nearly missed pro bowling on TV this morning (yes, I watch pro bowling.  It’s a hobby of mine, and perhaps if I ever get the chance I’d like to try to become one…don’t laugh).  I’ve never understood why the government is pushing TIME forward an hour.  Doesn’t that break some law of physics?  It’s as though most of the world’s population actually jumps forward in time for six or seven months, then jumps back later in the year, only to do the same dance yet again a few months later.

Also, because of DST, almost nothing can happen between the hours of 2 AM and 3 AM on the morning of the switch.  No one can be born, no one can die, no movies can be watched, no one can get explosive diarrhea because of bad shrimp they ate at a $5.95 dinner buffet at a Chinese restaurant.  Consequently, twice as many things happen between the hours of 1 AM and 2 AM the morning we “fall back.”  Twice as many births, deaths, movies watched, and cases of explosive diarrhea (why I’m using this as an example I am not entirely sure).  Doesn’t anyone else find this absurd?  For one hour a year, NOTHING HAPPENS.  It’s as though the world is held in a paralytic state for 60 minutes, then allowed to resume its normal function.  That freaks me the hell out.

The ONLY benefit DST has ever had for me personally is that it gets darker later in the day.  I have a degenerative eye condition that causes night blindness, among other things, and being able to go outside and see things past 6 PM is a nice change from the winder months, when it gets dark at 4 PM and I become a liability to everyone around me, especially those driving cars.  But that’s it!  Nothing else.  I am sick of Daylight Savings Time, and I think it should be abolished.  Or I could just move to Hawaii and never have to think about it again.

Agree with me?  Disagree?  Have you found a fatal flaw in my “argument” against DST?  Feel free to comment.  I’ll be happy to ignore your ideas or berate you for having a differing opinion.  I’ll actually try to get back on track starting soon.  I think I’m about five or so behind, so I’ll get to work.  Until next time…

2 Comments

  1. I object. Hawaii is waaaaay too hot. I mean, it’s pretty, but I’d go crazy living there.

  2. That’s true. Also, everything costs a lot more over there. It’d be nice for a little while, but the heat would probably drive me nuts as well.


Leave a Reply

